20 Burr Street, New Haven, CT 06512

Steeped in the Catholic tradition



Email Us

20 Burr Street

New Haven, CT 06512




123 456 789


Goldsmith Hall

New York, NY 90210

07:30 - 19:00

Monday to Friday


For Preschool Information please click here.

Religion • Grades 1 – 8

At every grade level, the religion curriculum standards are structured in strands that represent the four pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church: The Profession of Faith (Creed), Celebration of the Christian Mystery (Sacraments and the Mass), Life in Christ (The Ten Commandments and the Beatitudes), and Christian Prayer (The Prayer of the Believer). All of these strands should be integrated with one another to maximize learning, and the study of religion should be an integral part of all content areas.

Social Studies Standards • Grades 1-8

The standards for social studies for the Archdiocese of Hartford have four main strands – History, Geography, Civics and Economics. These four stands include all of the content strands from the social studies curriculum frame work from the Connecticut State Department of Education and the National Council for Social Studies. ARCHDIOCESAN STANDARDS/GOALS with learning outcomes for each grade are identified for each of the four standards. 

An integral part in the study of social studies should include the component of Catholic social teaching. Students should be aware of:

  • The life and dignity of the human person
  • The rights and responsibilities of the human person
  • The call to family, community and participation
  • The dignity of work and the rights of workers
  • Options for the poor and vulnerable
  • Solidarity – that all people are one human family

Finally, a goal of the Social Studies Standards is that the students in the Catholic Schools of the Archdiocese of Hartford will be multi-culturally literate and globally aware.

World Language • Grades 6-8

The various world language achievement standards are separated into strands: communication, cultures, connections, comparisons, and communities. As often as possible, all of these strands should be integrated with one another to maximize learning. Student objectives are the primary tasks students should be able to master as a result of instruction. Student objectives are directly aligned with achievement standards. Among Archdiocesan elementary schools, the study of world languages vary in instructional models. Therefore, teachers are expected to plan enabling outcomes, create successful learning experiences, that will progressively bring students from mastery at a novice level to beginner, intermediate, advanced, and on to preparation for high school.

Science/Health & Wellness • Grades 1-8

The Science/Health & Wellness Curriculum Standards is designed to assist the teacher in the important work of helping young people of the 21st century gain a basic knowledge of the science and its processes to appreciate the wonder of the universe, analyze the problems presented by life, and develop appropriate and morally responsible solutions to those problems. Students will be able to celebrate the miracle of God’s universe, to analyze critically the challenges of life, and to develop moral responses to questions, challenges and problems. The strand of health & wellness is an integrated component of the whole science curriculum. As we move forward in the third millennium, the health and wellness curriculum addresses our students’ importance and wellness in today’s technological society. As Catholic school educators, we recognize that spiritual, physical, emotional, social, and academic growth and performance and good health practices are inextricably intertwined. Today, health education is as important as all other subjects we teach in our Catholic schools. 

The Science/Health & Wellness Curriculum Standards are based on previous Archdiocesan curriculum guides, the State of Connecticut science content standards, and the National Science Education Standards, and the National Health Education Standards: Achieving Excellence. The committee relied heavily on the language and concepts of the State of Connecticut’s Science Framework, especially in the secondary section of these curriculum standards. The health curriculum provides students with specific health and wellness related knowledge and skills, health-enhancing behaviors, and known health risks to avoid. The relationship of one’s own health and that of family and friends is introduced early in the curriculum and developed through the middle school grades, exploring the impact of health on the broader community and the world.

MATH • Grades 1-8

The Standards for mathematics instruction in the Archdiocese of Hartford is divided by grade level. Within each grade level, with the exception of Algebra I, there are five strands:

  • Number Theory, Estimation and Operations
  • Algebra: Patterns and Functions
  • Geometry
  • Measurement
  • Data Analysis, Statistics and Probability

Reading/Language Arts • Grades 1-8

The various language arts standards are separated into strands: reading comprehension (literature), phonics (1-3), spelling/vocabulary, written language, grammar/usage/mechanics, oral language, listening skills, handwriting, and study skills. All of these strands should be integrated with one another to maximize learning, and language arts should be an integral part of all content areas.

Enrichment Activities

Art, Music, Physical Education, Library/Media 
Technology is integrated throughout the curriculum.

For more information on Curriculum Standards please consult Archdiocesan Curriculum Standards, Catholic Schools Edition, 2011

Upcoming Events
  1. Early Dismissal

    November 21 @ 12:30 pm
  2. Thanksgiving Recess

    November 22 - November 23
  3. End of Trimester 1

    November 29
  4. Report Card Distribution

    December 6
  5. Early Dismissal

    December 21 @ 12:30 pm